greenery

Over the past few years my desire to ‘go green’ has grown into something of a monster. I say monster because throwing anything away racks me with guilt and frustration that there isn’t a way to reuse absolutely everything. Aside from the occasional moments of disappointment with the throwaway society that we live in, my desire to live more sustainably has pushed me in ways I never imagined. Still, there’s more I can do.

One of my resolutions this year was to live greener. I began by asking for a set of reusable bamboo straws from a friend for Christmas – my daily iced coffee is a treat I’m not yet ready to abandon – and it’s worked great. The pack she got me came with straws in varying circumferences and a simple bag for carrying them in. I keep the pack in my purse, leaving two at the office and a few at home.

Replacing plastic straws with a green, reusable option seems like a small step but for someone who, as I said before, gets coffee every day it has been enormously helpful in lowering my plastic consumption. And this is just the beginning! Follow along for more #AdventuresInSustainability.

Future projects/diys:

  • Laundry detergent
  • Cotton rounds
  • Toner (to use with the cotton round)
  • Homemade ‘paper towels’
  • Dishwasher detergent
  • Liquid handsoap?
  • Biodegradable trash bags
  • Buy a bamboo toothbrush
  • Inspire others to live greener

Have a suggestion? Send it my way! Let’s all help each other keep our planet livable, enjoyable, and well-loved. Greenery: Not just Pantone’s Color of the Year. 

Leave a Reply

